Login Sign Up

Knee and Shin Conditioning for MT

Knee and Shin Conditioning for MT

Postby Breman » Sun Jan 15, 2006 4:49 pm

I'm a starting BJJ student, and want to start to add muay thai after the new year. Are there any things I can do at home to condition my shins and elbows, so I'm better prepared when I do start?
Breman
Yellow Belt
Yellow Belt

Postby stevebags » Mon Jan 16, 2006 3:26 pm

I used a rolling pin or a milk bottle just rolling it up & down and gently tapping it, it was recommended to me by a good Thai boxer. However it hurts like F*** at first.
stevebags
Black Belt
Black Belt

Postby Gurre » Mon Jan 16, 2006 5:05 pm

yeah... that's good
Gurre
Site Admin
Site Admin

Postby Ste Bell » Fri Jan 27, 2006 4:06 am

No, it's actually really bad for you... causes more nerve damage than kicking solid objects. You're best conditioning your shins naturally... I'll try and find the study that 'proves' you shouldn't use a rolling pin... it was comparing Thai fighters (in Thailand) who used rolling pins (or the likes) against those who kicked Banana trees... 60% more nerve damage/loss in the rolling pins.

But eh, it's your choice, not mine... I'd just stray away from it.
CURRENTLY TRAINING IN:
Muay Thai
Ste Bell
White Belt
White Belt

Postby Gurre » Fri Jan 27, 2006 5:58 am

You still lose nerves however you do. More or less depends on how hard you plan to kick on the blocks. Ask Ramon Dekkers.
Gurre
Site Admin
Site Admin

Postby Ste Bell » Fri Jan 27, 2006 6:40 pm

This is a much debated topic in martial arts... shin conditioning that is.