Login Sign Up

Muay Thai Fighters

Muay Thai Fighters

Postby LOPEZSJ » Sat Jan 23, 2010 12:43 am

Im just beginning and wanted to know if theres any tips/secrets you guys know now that you wish you had known earlier? Any thing from techniques, training, weights, diet, cardio?

THANKS ALOT!
LOPEZSJ
White Belt
White Belt

Re: Muay Thai Fighters

Postby Jons » Thu Feb 18, 2010 10:32 pm

For dieting, my biggest suggestion is eating oatmeal for breakfast. I try to get my long and hard run out of the way in the morning before I eat my breakfast also. If you are training 2x a day, eat the oatmeal BEFORE.

Tips
- work on your balance, this is something a lot of people neglect
- work on controlling your breathing, running is good for this
- footwork, please make sure the proper stance is GLUED into your mind
- get someone who knows what they are doing to hold pads for you as much as you can

talk to whoever is teaching you....
Jons
Blue Belt
Blue Belt

Postby Kensei » Sat Feb 20, 2010 12:48 pm

Shadow wrote:I know often people will try to hit the bag faster and stronger than there skill level allows. What I'm getting at is, when performing moves, combo, throws, etc. form is the key element (next to mental grasping). Through proper form power and speed will naturally follow. That is a lesson that is hard to learn for beginners. What do the rest of you guys think?.