Login Sign Up

Question on Striking Method?

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Kung Fu Moderators

Question on Striking Method?

Postby puravida » Tue Aug 29, 2006 12:25 pm

I have taken jkd for the last year and recently decided to try out muy thai. I went to a class last week and had trouble making the transition in striking method. The teacher was constantly reminding me to turn my wrists.

I really enjoyed the intensity of the muy thai class. However, I'd like to know which striking style would be more effective in reality. I'm sure some of you have strong opinions and I am new to the martial arts world so I could use some advice.

Thanks
puravida
White Belt
White Belt

Postby JimmysEgo » Tue Aug 29, 2006 12:47 pm

hammer fist baby!
JimmysEgo
Red Belt
Red Belt

Re: Question on Striking Method?

Postby malaclypse » Wed Aug 30, 2006 12:41 am

puravida wrote:I have taken jkd for the last year and recently decided to try out muy thai. I went to a class last week and had trouble making the transition in striking method. The teacher was constantly reminding me to turn my wrists.

I really enjoyed the intensity of the muy thai class. However, I'd like to know which striking style would be more effective in reality. I'm sure some of you have strong opinions and I am new to the martial arts world so I could use some advice.

Thanks

On the street: use what suits you best. don't use techniques that you feel not comfortable with.

However, there is a disadvantage to JKD striking: Keeping your boxing guard up is harder maintain in a JKD stance.
If you twist your wrists your arms are more or less level with your shoulder which means that you are one step closer to defending that side of your head.
If you trow a punch JKD wise, it will be very easy for your opponent to trow a jab or cross over your own punch.

And do not forget that with MT you are wearing gloves.
LMFM: Lean Mean Fat Machine
malaclypse
Purple Belt
Purple Belt

Postby andrewjonez » Sun Sep 10, 2006 5:14 pm