Login Sign Up

submission wrestling

Moderator: Forum Moderators

submission wrestling

Postby o-zone wrestler » Mon Mar 16, 2009 12:12 pm

im 16 years old and ive been wrestling for about 2 years and i just started training submission wrestling 2 weeks ago in a local gym.i have a pretty good base from wrestling and im in pretty good shape from wrestling,and im pretty good at takedowns,etc.My question is how can i get better faster?Im currently training 2 days each of sambo and no gi jujitsu
o-zone wrestler
White Belt
White Belt

Re: submission wrestling

Postby Gurre » Tue Mar 17, 2009 12:24 am

do what your instructor says...
Gurre
Site Admin
Site Admin

Postby Kensei » Tue Mar 17, 2009 5:02 am

I always liked Plyometrics for speed development. Good for short bursts of training time, not so good over time. I found that alot of the athletes that I worked with did worse over time if they kept doing plyos. Work them in for a training cycle of 6-12 weeks then drop them for a while.

Even monkeys fall out of trees!
Kensei

Postby o-zone wrestler » Tue Mar 17, 2009 11:03 am

whats some things i can do for plyometrics?
o-zone wrestler
White Belt
White Belt

Postby Kensei » Tue Mar 17, 2009 4:33 pm

I could go into it...but google it man their is a tone of great plyos sites out their. Suffice it to say that I would look at different kinds of plyos for different sports. I like High jumps for shooting in and of course practice sprints from a dead stop as well. Other than that google it. If you have some spacific questions I might be able to help with I would be happy to if you PM me.

Even monkeys fall out of trees!
Kensei

Postby o-zone wrestler » Thu Mar 19, 2009 6:29 am

ok thanks i appreciate that.i do have a few more questions
o-zone wrestler
White Belt
White Belt

Postby A2theJ » Wed Mar 25, 2009 9:11 am

i wanted to ask a few things about Jits,